HFM × Arthaus – Die Stadt ohne Juden

Moderation: Goggo Gensch

Guests:

Brigitte Loesch MdL a.D., Chair of the Board Initiative Lern- und Gedenkort Hotel Silber e.V.

Dr. Michael Blume, anti-Semitism commissioner of the state goverment BW

tba

The City Without Jews (Ö 1924) is based on the novel of the same name by Hugo Bettauer, published in 1922, which described the idea of ​​expelling the Jewish population from Vienna, which was still utopian at the time.

Unrest reigns in the legendary Republic of Utopia. The workers are taking to the streets, money is worthless, speculators are fueling inflation with their greed. In the taverns, people already know the solution: Out with the Jews. After their expulsion, however, the economic and social crisis worsened.

A few years after the premiere, the cinematic fiction was caught up by the cruel reality. The film is now considered as the first cinematic statement against anti-Semitism. With the rediscovery of an unabridged copy in Paris in 2015, an almost complete version with hitherto missing depictions of unembellished anti-Semitism could be reconstructed. Olga Neuwirth composed the new film music.

Kindly supported by the City of Stuttgart.

Related Events

All Events

Your web browser Internet Explorer is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Update browser

HFM × Arthaus – Die Stadt ohne Juden

Moderation: Goggo Gensch

Guests:

Brigitte Loesch MdL a.D., u.a. Vorstandsvorsitzende Initiative Lern- und Gedenkort Hotel Silber e.V.

Dr. Michael Blume, Antisemitismusbeauftragter der Landesregierung BW

tba

Die Stadt ohne Juden (Ö 1924) basiert auf dem gleichnamigen, 1922 erschienenen Roman von Hugo Bettauer, der die damals noch utopische Vorstellung einer Vertreibung der jüdischen Bevölkerung aus Wien beschrieb. Im Film wurde der brisante Stoff abgeschwächt, konkrete realpolitische Bezüge vermieden.

In der sagenhaften Republik Utopia herrscht Unruhe. Die Arbeiter gehen auf die Straße, das Geld ist nichts mehr wert, Spekulanten befeuern mit ihrer Habsucht die Inflation. In den Wirtshäusern kennen die Menschen schon die Lösung: Hinaus mit den Juden. Nach deren Ausweisung verschlimmert sich jedoch die wirtschasftliche und gesellschaftliche Krise.

Wenige Jahre nach der Premiere wurde die filmische Fiktion von der grausamen Realität eingeholt. Der Film gilt als erstes filmkünstlerisches Statement gegen den Antisemitismus. Mit der Wiederentdeckung einer ungekürzten Kopie in Paris 2015 konnte eine fast vollständige Fassung mit bis dahin fehlenden Darstellungen des ungeschönten Antisemitismus rekonsturiert werden. Olga Neuwirth komponierte die neue Filmmusik.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Stadt Stuttgart.

Weitere Veranstaltungen

Alle Veranstaltungen

Your web browser Internet Explorer is out of date. Update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on this site.

Update browser